Top 10 Signs I’m Getting Old . . .

Pam, Heather, Maggie on the South Campus Bus

Pam, Heather, Maggie on the South Campus Bus

10.) I actually bought a vacuum last night. Not only had I made price comparisons and a bit of research beforehand, but I was thrilled to find that the actual vacuum I wanted was on sale. I’m counting it as the best purchase I’ve made all month . . . Sigh. Remember the days when that title went to a bangin’ new purse or that new kind of mascara Drew Barrymore’s always talking about? (p.s. I love that mascara!)

 9.)The formerly typical weekend, consisting of Saturday night at my favorite dive bar, and Sunday afternoon at the Carrier Dome, watching a basketball game resulted in me losing my voice earlier this week. If I were still in school, I guarantee a plate of ten-cent wings and a pitcher of Miller Lite would have cured this in minutes. As it was, I went to work voice-less on Monday, chalking it up to “I guess I’m just not in college any more.”

8.) I have a date this weekend. I will be making dinner instead of dining out. And I’m genuinely excited – and prepared – for it.

7.) I actually spent the morning at work listening to a playlist of the top 10 one hit wonders of the past decade. And I rocked out to just about each one of them. (Any one remember just how lame the Eifel 65 “Blue” video really was?)

6.) I’m always freezing cold at my desk, which in itself isn’t really an indication that I’m getting old, but I usually wrap myself in a big pashmina just to keep my body temperature up. Last week one of the editors at work asked if I was wearing a “shawl.” Suddenly I had the urge to bust out some knitting needles and do other elderly things.

5.) I have a cat.

4.) My plans for tonight include baking banana bread, vacuuming and maybe a little bit of scrapbooking (if I feel wild enough).

3.) I went on a road trip this past weekend with some of my college friends. We got to the bars SO early – we were like the first ones there. And after we left (way before closing time) we started complaining about how tired we were, and went to bed as soon as we could convince our hosts it was time for lights out.

2.) My friends and I actually made reference to “The Good Old Days” on said road trip. Sigh. Has it really been that long since I drank my face off without feeling ill for the next three days?

1.) I have instituted a ten o’clock bedtime on weeknights. Man, I hope I can squeeze my vacuuming and baking in before then tonight . . . Looks like I’m going to have to nix the scrapbooking.

2 Responses

  1. Ok — I know that adding thigns to my own post is pretty lame, but I think this #11 is really pertinent. I forgot to mention that I have slipped and fallen on ice twice this week while on the way to my car. Seriously. It’s very Help-I’ve-Fallen-And-I-Can’t-Get-Up-esque.

    My butt’s sore.

  2. Sweetie: I feeeeeeeeeel that!

Leave a Reply

